A-child-with-a-healthy-dose-of-1

I was recently introduced to a self esteem facilitator through a friend. And of course it turned out that the universe threw Claire in my path just at the right time.

I am at an all time low. Physically I hate what I look like. Emotionally I hate where I am. Financially. Let’s just say when I try draw money from the ATM it laughs at me. And all my negative feelings are affecting the way I interact with Emma and Ben. But especially Emma.

I know that, without saying a word,  I’m sending her unhealthy messages about body image and confidence. I know I’m effecting the way she sees herself and affecting the way she interacts with others. For the first time ever Emma hasn’t been wanting to go to school. And on Wednesday she decided she needed a sick day. After some probing it turns out one of the kids is teasing her and calling her ‘fat’.

Enter Claire. Claire is a self esteem facilitator who works with teachers & parents to increase awareness of self- esteem issues and their impact in the classroom and family, and to develop practical and creative tools to build self-esteem in children.

We live in a world which is often negative and critical, pointing us to take note of our faults and inadequacies, and evaluating our value and worth based on our behaviour.

Our self-esteem determines how we feel about ourselves, and this has a ripple effect into every part of our lives. Healthy self-esteem enables us to love and believe in ourselves as whole, unique and authentic, regardless of the opinions of others.

Unfortunately, the world we live in doesn’t always support our belief in our self-esteem. We live in a world which is often negative and critical, pointing us to take note of our faults and inadequacies, and evaluating our value and worth based on our behaviour. By learning about self-esteem, and integrating this into the way we live and raise our children, we have an opportunity to alert them to the ways in which they are good enough.

Claire, with the parents, facilitate children to focus on the positive aspects of themselves, rather than the negative; on their strengths, talents and positive qualities, rather than their mistakes and weaknesses. With her workshop children learn to treat themselves in a way that says “I matter”, and to believe that they are equally deserving of love, happiness, success and abundance.

A lesson I could do with about now.

Emma and I have made an appointment and I’ll keep you posted on how it goes. But if you’d like to find out more about one one one sessions with Claire in the meantime, or get more information about her upcoming introductory workshop pop her a mail.

Leave a Reply

