Today I was called a f*cking retard, told I looked like white trash and that from my appearance there was no way I could afford insurance. All of this over a car. A car!

Don’t get me wrong.  I love nice things. I’m a Taurus. BC (before children) I didn’t flinch at spending R3000 on a pair of jeans. In fact, just last night I was looking at a handbag I had bought a few years back. It cost R12k.  Yes, and it made sense then.  Last night I was thinking HTF did I ever justify that purchase. Priorities change. Kids change things. 

I drive the car I do because I could afford it at the time, it gets me from A to B and there’s space for all my party stuff.  I no longer frequent Diesel and G Star because the reality is I don’t have the disposable income I used to.  And I’m okay with it.  You’re gonna like me because of me. Not because of where I shop or what I wear.

So back to me being called a ‘retarded white trash uninsured hick’ this morning.  I was running late for a meeting. I wasn’t concentrating.  My mind was on 101 things. And I scraped the car next to me. The scratch was small and when the car guards came over to look they said it could probably be polished out.

I immediately left my details with the security and asked if he could pass it onto the driver if I wasn’t back. I whatsapped friends telling them what had happened and joked that it was more than likely some highly strung woman’s car. If only I had known just how highly strung.

When I got back to my car the other one was still there.  I made sure the security guard still had my details and reminded him to please pass them on. And I started reversing. Along came a woman pushing a pram and the guard asked me to stop.  He then told her what had happened.  And it just went downhill.

She looked at the scratch and let out a blood curdling scream.  I thought she was joking. She wasn’t. 

The bit that follows is the dialogue between the two of us:
Her: you scratched my fucking car and you were just going to drive away! How dare you you bitch!

Me: I wasn’t driving away. I left my details with this gentleman to give to you in case I missed you leaving

Her: my fuck! My fucking car (blood curdling scream). Are you fucking stupid? And I don’t suppose you’ve got insurance have you?

Me: I am so so sorry. I didn’t do this on purpose. Really I am so sorry (pathetic I know but that’s me)

Her: for fuck’s sake I don’t need this shit now. Now I have to go to the fucking police station and report this because you can’t fucking drive!
And I suppose your piece of shit car is absolutely fine?

Me: no it’s not fine. It’s scratched too

Her: oh for fuck’s sake! Now you expect me to feel sorry for you!

At this point the car guards and the guys who wash the cars had all kinda moved away from her and were standing behind me. And they were all whispering “ignore her. Don’t let her upset you.  She’s behaving so badly!”

She then got into her car and started dialling her husband.  “You need to talk him and tell him you did this! I’m not having him think this was my fault!”

Her: (on the phone) I need you to speak to this fucking retard who just crashed into my car!  The fucking bitch can’t drive and by the looks of her there’s no way she’s insured!”

She hands the phone over to me and I apologise to her husband and explain what happened and again say I’m sorry. And he says it’s ok. She’s just really stressed and tired. They haven’t had water at home for a few days and someone recently crashed into her car. And I say again how sorry I am and that in really didn’t mean for it to happen and that she’s just so upset and angry. At this point she yells at me that she doesn’t need to be psychoanalized by a fucking idiot.

By now I was a snotball of a mess.  I was doing the ugly cry while still trying to remain composed.  The car wash man kept looking at me and rolling his eyes in her direction.

I know I was in the wrong. I know I ruined her day and added to her stress. I know she doesn’t need this right now.  I get it. But it’s a car! Or am I wrong? Surely a civil conversation would have been more productive? Or am I, because I’m in the wrong, underplaying it?

14 thoughts on “I’m retarded white trash…apparently

  1. No, she totally over-reacted. There is no need to be so rude to anyone, and she should be ashamed of her reaction. I am quite placid, but I would have told her to get lost after speaking like that! Anyway what she said says way more about the type of person she is.

  2. Definite over reaction. Accidents happen, that's just part of life. But maybe like her husband said she was stressed and tired and maybe this tiny thing was the straw that broke the camel's back. Although, that doesn't excuse being rude to you at all.

  3. I've realised recently that everyone has stuff going on in their lives, it doesn't give them the right to be awful – even though they use it as their excuse to get away with it. She is in the wrong – there is no need to be rude to someone else, no matter the circumstances.

  4. If I were you I would name and shame her. She sounds like a very awful, nasty, spoilt, ungracious and rude lady (um no hardly a lady), chick. Just keep the faith that karma is such a bitch. I got all angry just reading your post. Lucky for her she didn't pick on me, I would have put her squarely back in her box. You should slap her with a defamation law suit. That would teach her. What an oxygen thief she is. You walked away the bigger person, if nothing she owes you an apology. Fok!!!!

  5. Sounds like a completely overreaction – there is no need for that kind of language and the way she treated you. Her life is obviously not going very well right now and you bore the brunt of it. Sorry:(

  6. Oh my goodness! Did she swear like a trooper in front of her child too? You say she was pushing a pram… Sorry that you she reacted so badly, you were in the total right and even had the forethought to leave your details for her.

  7. Melinda – you did everything right … It's her issues – “it's not your circus and it sure ain't your monkeys”. She needs to deal with stuff, clearly. Don't beat yourself up about it – and anyways, her poor hubby is obviously brow-beaten by this sort of thing often … don't take it on board, you are worth so much more than that x

Leave a Reply

