There are a few things you can expect when having a toddler in the house. You can expect messes on the table and in the bathroom. You can count on sitting, standing or tripping on / over a toy or ten and you can expect numerous mood changes in a day.

We’ve even become accustomed to Emma spitting at us (once only cos that was nipped in the butt pretty quickly) and things getting tossed around a room BUT what you can never expect is what comes out of a toddler’s mouth.

The other night Emma was lying on the couch, in the nude, as she is wont to do, head on my lap, watching Toy Story 1, 2 or 3. The next minute she tells me “Take a look mama, my toe’s in my front bum!”

Yesterday she was eating some of those triangle shaped biscuits. She had one in her mouth and one in each hand. Mark told her she had had enough and took the bowl with the remaining biscuits away. “Wait, wait” she shouted. “Let me get one more!” Mark, thinking he was clever, said to her that she didn’t have enough hands to hold anymore, was left rather speechless when she placed one of the biscuits between her toes and told him “Now I’ve got one waiting and space for more!”

Occasionally Mark or I will let slip with a bad word. Occasionally I’ll exclaim ‘Jesus’ if an event or a moment warrants it. But it’s more like a ‘Cheeeeeee-ssies’. I asked Emma what she wanted for breakfast one morning and she told me she wants ‘jesus’ on toast.

Emma loves her little brother. More than life itself. And he loves her right back. When she walks into the room his eyes sparkle and he giggles with glee. She rushes straight over to him to smother him with kisses and hugs and love. There has never been a moment of jealousy or nastiness from Emma, except if Ben grabs a toy that she happens to want at THAT exact moment. But otherwise she shares everything with him. Everything. “Mama, I’m sharing with Benny”she shouts from the lounge. “Ah Emmie you’re the best big sister ever!” says me from the kitchen. “What are you sharing?” “My snotties!”

One thought on “Do you love someone enough to share your last snotty with?

Leave a Reply

