Nope this isn’t a sponsored post for all things blue blood, wings and ‘that time of the month’ but rather the next chapter of my life.

A month or so back I decided to quit the corporate world, traffic jams and cheap office coffee. I had had enough of office politics, onbeskofte (sorry, no English word describes it better) colleagues, egos and the false sense of importance strutting through the corridors. My desire to climb any corporate ladders is a thing of the past. I don’t want the big office and the parking bay. Kids will do that to you. They change your perspective of what’s important and what’s not.

It wasn’t an easy decision to make. I had gone freelance once before. It was post breakdown and probably not the best thing to do. I was tired, depressed, insecure and out of sorts. Not a great combination to be go-getting. This time round I’m feeling better about it. I’m in a good space. I have the support of my husband and new found friends inside my computer. This time round I have Emma and Ben in my corner cheering me on.

So Monday sees the start of a new adventure. I’m excited. I’m nervous. I have moments of WTF am I doing and moments of ‘why didn’t I do this a long time ago’. My plans include self publishing my blog into a book, spending more time doing things I enjoy and taking care of me.

So place of work, goodbye and thanks for the fish!

One thought on “New Freedom

Leave a Reply

