Last night was a bit of a first for me. I went to the movies. It wasn’t actually the first time I’ve been to the movies but it was the first time since Emma arrived in our lives that I went out sans Mark, Emma, Ben, a nappy bag, bottles and wet wipes. I was nervous (mostly) for me and also for Mark and Emma. But I soon realised, thanks to Nicki and Tanya, that time away is good, it makes the heart grow fonder and stronger and that children, like tampons, are out of sight out of mind…ish!

My ‘dear special amazing whatsapp in the middle of the night cos i’m miserable’ friends Tanya and Nicki suggested I join them for a night at the movies and after much consideration and permission seeking, (inside and out), I agreed. And I’m so glad I did.

The movie ‘What To Expect When You’re Expecting’ is based on the bable (baby bible) of the same name. It was the first book I bought as soon as I found out I was pregnant but, needless to say, I didn’t get to page through it over and over again because shortly after purchasing it…well, let’s just say I didn’t need it anymore. Except for the part on Partial Molar Pregnancies, tucked away in a little column near the end of the book.

It’s not going to win any awards but it’ll definitely win a place in your heart. If you’ve ever been pregnant, wanted to be pregnant, miscarried, battled infertility, given birth, adopted, this movie will strike a chord. Sitting there I recognised friends and people I know in each of the characters and couples. Mark and I, we’d be Jennifer Lopez and Rodrigo Santoro, the couple in the process of adopting. Cash strapped and desperate for a child, I remember saying some of those EXACT words to Mark, and sobbing when I admitted the failure I felt at not being able to do the one thing women are made to do. Sitting next to Nicki and Tanya didn’t help. Two moms to the most awesome kidlets ever. They did it. Why couldn’t I? Of course, this is my issue, not theirs.

We all shed a tear at various parts and at one point Tanya tore a tissue in half to share with Nicki. There’s the stereotypical pregnant women; the fitness freak, the perfectly pregnant princess who sneezes and out pops a baby and the rather flatulent, very unglamorous mom to be, Wendy (Elizabeth Banks). Like the movie orgasm, she has put pregnancy on a pedestal, but finally admits that, like the movie orgasm, the perfect pregnancy doesn’t exist. There’s the miscarriage, the difficult birth and there’s THE DADS!

I walked away loving the movie, loving the fact that I got to spend an evening with my gal pals and cherishing how much I missed my little family. I also walked away realising that I still have a few unresolved issues when it comes to me, babies, infertility and adoption…

6 thoughts on “What to expect when you’re watching What To Expect When You’re Expecting…

  1. I laughed at the part when they hide thier Wedding picture during the home visit. I remember feeling the same unreasonable paranoia.

  2. I went to see it last night (alone)as well. It was a real tear-jerker. Funny at times,and so REAL at times. I can imagine how you must've felt because,for me,the journey of Jennifer Lopez & her husband's adoption was the most realistic & the most touching.

    You do need a mommy-break sometimes. But I understand the push-pull that goes on in your heart! I went to the movie last night(I wanted to. I NEEDED to) but was so sad when I got home to an already asleep toddler. I wanted to wake her up and give her a million little kisses & tell her mommy's home incase she was confused as to where I was when she went to bed! 🙂 *sigh*

Leave a Reply

