Sharon over at The Blessed Barrenness asked if I would mind doing a post on the adoption route we took for her website, Trinity Heart. I jumped at the opportunity. Sharon is not only doing a brilliant job raising awareness around adoption, she also helps prospective parents with contacts, FAQ’s and a whole lot more.
While comparing the difference between private and government adoption fees and other legal ‘stuff’ I found this poem and had to share it. It sums up the love adoptive parents have for their children perfectly… 
I Will Be a Wonderful Mother

There are women who become mothers without effort, without thought,

without patience or loss, and though they are good mothers and love their children, I know that I will be better.

I will be better not because of genetics or money or because I have read more books, but because I have struggled and toiled for this child.I have longed and waited. I have cried and prayed. I have endured and planned over and over again. Like most things in life, the people who truly have appreciation are those who have struggled to attain their dreams.

I will notice everything about my child. I will take time to watch my child sleep, explore, and discover. I will marvel at this miracle every day for the rest of my life.

I will be happy when I wake in the middle of the night to the sound of my child, knowing that I can comfort, hold, and feed him and that I am not waking to take another temperature, pop another pill, take another shot or cry tears of a broken dream. My dream will be crying for me.

I count myself lucky in this sense; that God has given me this insight, this special vision with which I will look upon my child. Whether I parent a child I actually give birth to or a child that God leads me to, I will not be careless with my love.

I will be a better mother for all that I have endured.

Yes, I will be a wonderful mother.

author unknown

2 thoughts on “Adoptive Love Summed Up Perfectly

  1. So wonderful, I never have adopted a child. Yet after I was told never to have more children when my youngest child was born premature due to my own severe health issues. (The reason I could never adopt), I was heartbroken that I would not have the big family I wanted.
    After a year of stressfull neonate visits, bills out our ears & more. My husband dropped off the side of the universe & divorce was his only answer. Leaving me the house the car, the kids & what I couldn't get the hospital to realize he had been ordered to pay.
    A year later I'm sitting on FB chatting with a friend & my best friend from highschool IMs . Seven months later we were getting married.
    Little did we know 5 weeks later DCS would knock on our door. Admittedly my new husband had a one night stand a few months before chatting online with me. He is one to always be safe but…….
    So this lady comes to talk to my husband about this little girl who is possibly his. She gave us a picture, set up the paternity test & left us to wonder. He took the test we waited.
    We got a call a little too soon, it was the lady, it was a Friday at 2pm. She said she didn't have results back but had a problem. The mothers family had been doing care but wouldn't any longer. She couldn't find respite care & no fosters were available. Would we be willing to take her until Monday when she could get a respite set up? We looked at eachother & agreed. Getting my daughters old carseat & picking her up at DCS 2 hours later. She slept in a banket lined box. We fell for her. 11AM Monday the test results were in & we never had to give her back.
    Now what lead me to your site was. In August my SIL is having a baby boy who is African American. My SIL needed us to help with her other child until last year when he was old enough to stay home alone.
    We are taking this little guy too. I love being a mom. I really love parenting in so many ways. But I'm a white woman, all of my children are different ethnicities. They are all wonderful. I got my big family!

Leave a Reply

