Tomorrow’s Mother’s Day. The one day (out of 365) where mom maybe gets a cup of tea in bed (ok, maybe not), doesn’t have to change the crap nappies (wishful thinking) and put your feet up (um, okay!). It’s a chance to thank moms for everything they do, tirelessly, fearlessly, happily. From kissing a sore knee, to wiping the tears away. Moms keep you safe from the monsters at night with a visit from the tickle monster. There is no love like a mother’s.

It’s also a day to reflect on the blessings in your life – whether teeny tiny or tweeny. I’m thankful for the two little blessings in my life that keep me sane, drive me insane and make me smile.

So tomorrow I’ll take a little time to give thanks to Emma and Ben who have changed my life and made it a journey instead of a destination.

They have shown me how to love, how to give and how to receive. They are teaching me kindness, patience and understanding that I have never quite achieved. Without them I am not a mother, I am simply a woman.

Because of you every day is a roller coaster ride filled with laughter, frustration, exhaustion, exhilaration, play and learning. A butterfly is a fairytale, a cloud is a dragon, a kiss magical. I get to stop and smell the flowers and stare into the eyes of a bug. A star is to be wished upon and a sunbeam something to be chased.

Because of you I get to be a princess, a fairy, a mermaid, a giant. I get to have tea parties in the lounge and crawl into a house made out of chairs and blankets. I get share secrets with you and laugh out loud. I get to sing songs and dance around the house in my pyjamas.

Thanks to you I get to appreciate the little things in life, like a long hot bath, a good book, sitting down for a meal or getting my hair done. I get to see life through the eyes of my mom and realise that everything she did (right or wrong) she did out of love. Hearing “love you mama” makes the late nights and early mornings worth every moment. Watching you grow into your awesomeness is an honour and privilege, and I can only hope that I have a little something to do with that.

The greatest gift I have ever been given is the opportunity to be a mom. To all the moms out there Happy Mother’s Day – take time to relax and wallow in the joy you have. To all the children, tiny, tweeny or ‘old’, take the time to hug your mom

 xxx

Leave a Reply

