As a woman and a mother I’m always feeling guilty about something. I’m guilty that I don’t look like ‘those’ women in the magazines. I’m guilty that I can’t bounce a coin off my ass or that my boobs no are no longer horizontal.

I feel guilty because I don’t do enough for the community, because I don’t feed every homeless person I see on the side of the road. I feel guilty because I spend too much money (on the wrong things) and that Emma might be over indulged. I feel guilty that I might have to consider a government school and not a snazzy private one.

I feel guilty that I spend a lot of time at work and not enough time with Emma. I feel guilty when I do spend a lot of time Emma and would rather be at work. I feel guilty when I hear other children Emma’s age can do algebra and geometry and she can’t. I feel guilty that Emma prefers jelly gums to broccoli sprouts because if she preferred veggies then maybe she could do the geometry and algebra. I feel guilty that she watches too much TV and not enough time figuring out the answers to the world’s problems.

I feel guilty that I’m not a nymphomaniac and given the chance of going down or lying down, I’d do the latter. I feel guilty that my ‘orgasm’ face is nothing like the girls in ‘those’ movies.

I feel guilty when people assume Emma’s lost because there’s no black mommy in the vicinity. I feel guilty when someone speaks to Emma in a language she should apparently be speaking. I feel guilty watching Emma traverse between two worlds. I feel guilty that Emma is an only child and I feel guilty that at the moment I prefer it that way.

I feel guilty that my body doesn’t function the way it should. I feel guilty that I’m unable to have children.  I feel guilty that I skipped the varicose veins and the (extra) stretch marks. I feel guilty that I’m not Emma’s bio-mom and didn’t bond with her from conception. I feel guilty when she cries in her dreams. I feel guilty because no matter how hard I try Emma will never look like me.

I feel guilty 100% of the time and if there’s a moment I feel at peace I then feel guilty that I’m not feeling guilty. BTW, I think I might have done a similar post about guilt before. So now I feel guilty about that too. I also feel guilty that I have found new things to feel guilty about.

My name’s Melinda but feel free to call me Guilty…

7 thoughts on “My name’s Melinda but you can call me Guilty

  1. Although there are things in here that I can't feel guilty about, I can relate to a lot of the others. I'm sure I feel guilty about some things you don't and visa versa.

    It's ok though. You are not alone.

  2. Thank you. Sometimes I write about how I feel guilty for every second I choose not to be with my kids but I did think most people thought I was mad.
    Strange as it may seem, I feel a lot less guilty since having two kids. I thought the guilt would double and obvs it is still there (and about new! interesting! stuff like how much attention each child gets, and who may be losig out) – but I am also THAT much more tired and THAT much more grateful that the 2 of them can get on with it and so clearly enjoy each other's company a lot of the time. *Loving it*

  3. Oh you speak for all of us. The details may differ, but the general theme is the same. Flip, and we are just doing the best we can for the moment.

Leave a Reply

