All kiddies enjoy a bedtime story and I’ve tried with Emma. But by the time she’s ready to hit the sack she can be quite grumpy and what starts off as fun time ends up with us arguing. She’ll tell me I’m not reading the book right or that I need to read louder or quieter or she flaps the pages way ahead and then tells me to read ‘poppaly’.

So to save myself the anguish and hang onto the last few remains of my sanity we do a little rhyme. The sillier the better and Emma joins in when she feels like it.

It always starts with I LOVE YOU TO THE MOON AND BACK…and all the stars and all the moons and then…

I love you more than a leopard has spots
I love you more than a dalmatians dots
I love you more than the fish in the sea
I love you more than all the birds in a tree
I love you more than a sugar lump
I love you bigger than a camel’s hump
I love you more than a sweetie is sweet
I love you as much as a giant’s smelly feet
I love you louder than a lion can roar
I love you more than all the bugs on the floor
I love you bigger than an elephant’s bum
I love you more than a pirate loves rum
I love you more than a beach has shells
I love you more than a stinky skunk smells
I love you more than a mouse loves cheese
I love you most when you give a big squeeze
I love you higher than the neck of a giraffe
I love you more than a hyena laugh
I love you more than all of this and I especially love your good-night kiss

3 thoughts on “Let me count the ways…

Leave a Reply

