Hi my name’s Melinda and I’m a…um…not sure how to say this….er…I’m a …oh crap…do I really have to reveal this…okay, my name’s Melinda and I’m a Taurus. There. I said it. I know that this confession is worse than admitting to abusing small rodents or been a crackhead.


The reason I’m revealing such a horrid truth is because of a recent incident at work. A colleague went to HR to complain about me being a racist. Yes, a racist. Something I have never been called. As a Taurean I’ve been called many things…some good, some bad and some ugly but nothing as ugly as this…ever. I’m a realist and well aware that I’m no where near perfect; as a Taurean, as a woman, a daughter, a wife and a mother I’ve made a lot of mistakes, which I’m painfully aware of. But a racist!


I used to have sleepless nights if I knew I had hurt someone or upset them but that seems to have gotten better with age. I’ve come to realize I can’t please all the people all the time. In fact I can’t please some people some of the time. But to be called a racist by someone who doesn’t know anything about me has left me feeling gutted. To quote a famous actor: “It cut me deep Shrek, it cut me real deep.”


Discussing this particular situation with someone at work today they said “You’re a lot of things Melinda, but a racist, never!” Of course the bit they said about ‘being a lot of things’ got me thinking about all the things I could be. So I thought I’d google me.

According to http://www.astrology-online.com/taurus.htm the characteristics of Taurus are solidity, practicality, extreme determination and strength of will – no one will ever drive them, but they will willingly and loyally follow a leader they trust. They are stable, balanced, conservative good, law-abiding citizens and lovers of peace, possessing all the best qualities of the bourgeoisie. As they have a sense of material values and physical possessions, respect for property and a horror of falling into debt, they will do everything in their power to maintain the security of the status quo and be somewhat hostile to change.


Mentally, the characteristics of taurus are keen-witted and practical more often than intellectual, but apt to become fixed in their opinions through their preference for following accepted and reliable patterns of experience. Taurus character is generally dependable, steadfast, prudent, just, firm and unshaken in the face of difficulties. Their vices arise from their virtues, going to extremes on occasion,such as sometimes being too slavish to the conventions they admire.

On rare occasions a Taurus may be obstinately and exasperatingly self-righteous, unoriginal, rigid, ultraconservative, argumentative, querulous bores, stuck in a self-centered rut. They may develop a brooding resentment through nursing a series of injuries received and, whether their characters are positive or negative, they need someone to stroke their egos with a frequent, “Well Done!” Most Taurus people are not this extreme though.


They are faithful and generous friends with a great capacity for affection, but rarely make friends with anyone outside their social rank, to which they are ordinarily excessively faithful. In the main, they are gentle, even tempered, good natured, modest and slow to anger, disliking quarreling and avoiding ill-feeling. If they are provoked, however, they can explode into violent outbursts of ferocious anger in which they seem to lose all self-control. Equally unexpected are their occasional sallies into humor and exhibitions of fun.


So that’s what the experts say. What would friends and family say, well, they would say I’m moody and can be quite ill-tempered. If I decide to sulk I can sulk for days. I am stubborn and headstrong and very rarely budge when it comes to something I believe in. I am funny in a macabre kind of way and open myself up to only those I trust (and gynaecologists). I work hard and am ambitious though my priorities have changed since becoming a mother. Some would describe me as aloof and even rude on first meeting me, though like fungi, I tend to grow on people.


As mentioned I am slow to anger, but hell hath no fury like a bull who’s had their patch peed on. Like a bull chewing on the crud, I will happily take whatever comes my way, for as long as I need to, but should there come a time that I think enough is enough, well, then that’s it.  It’s ‘til then and no further with me.


So, there you go, I’m a Taurean with typical (and not so typical) traits. But a racist. No. Sorry. I have 2 black dogs and a black baby, oh and did I mention I have black friends…and even one or two Jewish ones. I have lived in a country where the most awful atrocities were committed against people for simply being the ‘wrong’ colour. I have seen a country go to vote for a democratic South Africa and I have stood in queues with hopeful citizens as we waited to make our mark. I have watched young South Africans, black and white, benefit from the positive changes in our country and I have witnessed awe inspiring moments of men and women, black and white, achieve the unachievable.


I’m a white mother raising a black child, hoping that by the time she’s old enough to understand colour, we’ll be living in a colour-blind society where any injustice is seen as an injustice against a person, not against black or white. I hope I’m proven wrong because at the moment I feel a little doubtful…

2 thoughts on “Hi my name’s Melinda and I’m a…um…

  1. Everyone who is into style depends on a great stylist to look good and help with
    hair issues and problems. Habits die hard and whatever your regime has been in the past, you do
    need to have a good look around at what is on offer for different hair types and textures.
    Generally, these products are more expensive than their watered-down counterparts, but you
    can find a few affordable pure silicone hair products (see below).

Leave a Reply

