My sweet little Emma. People look at you at tell me how lucky you are to have us. They say that we took you from an unknown environment and have given you stability, love and opportunities that you might not have had before.

I’m not sure I always agree with that, but I smile and wave, smile and wave. I think you would have always been loved, and the kind of chutzpah and spirit you already show will have given you those opportunities they speak of anyway. My sincere and heartfelt response is ALWAYS how blessed we are to have YOU.

We have given you everything you would have already had but you have given us so much more, in such a short space of time. I am in awe of your ability to understand people’s feelings and emotions, and how you empathize with them. I am gobsmacked by how much you see and know of your surroundings already. You know when we get into the car on a Saturday you’re off to see good friends and have fun (and heaven help me if I divert from the path – you’re like my own little GPS). You know that if we’re going to visit ‘Nanette (Jeannette to the rest of us) that Terry and Christopher will be there too.

You make me laugh so hard that my belly hurts and when you’re in pain or sick, I am overcome with the most desperate sadness and want to make everything better. You have taught daddy and I that a giggle goes a long way and a hug or kiss goes even further. Daddy and I love hugging each other, but since you came along nothing beats a group hug…with a ‘big squeeeeeeeeeeeze’ said out loud.

You are polite and caring. The doggies get a ‘good morning’ and ‘good night’. They get a gentle pat and an ‘I love you’ or ‘mom, jiggy biggs is ca-ute!’ every single day. I don’t think those pooches have ever felt so pampered. No one is spared from your generosity and ability to share. Even if you do take the sweet from your mouth and pop into theirs…either they’re overcome with emotion or they’re busy vomiting in their mouths.

I am amazed by your capacity to love and the ability you have to make people feel loved too. I swear if your arms were longer you’d wrap them around the world and give each and everyone a hug. I don’t know too many children that have god-parents, sparents (those who don’t believe in God), god-sisters, god-aunties, honorary god people and a whole lot more, all in your corner, all rooting for you.

Without even knowing it you have taught me how to love unconditionally, to be patient and to be kind. You have shown me that there is no need to worry about the small stuff or even what I think is big stuff. In fact there is no BIG stuff with you. Except for hugs, kisses and cupcakes.

Just this morning you looked at my eyes and asked me ‘what’s wrong mummy? what’s wrong?’ Granted it was yesterday’s mascara and I looked more raccoon than human, but you immediately took my face in your tiny little hands and kissed it better. Afterwards you softly declared ‘see mama, Emmie makes it better!’ Emmie you have no idea how much better you do make it.  I got a little weepy eyed and then said a quiet thank you because I realized how blessed I am to be loved by you.

Every day, rather every minute, spent with you is a chance for me to get a little closer to becoming the person I have always hoped I could be.

If anyone ever asks you how much do your mommy and daddy love you, you can see without a doubt, ‘to the moon and back’.

Little Nutbrown Hare who was going to bed held on tight to Big Nutbrown Hare’s very long ears. He wanted to be sure that Big Nutbrown Hare was listening.

“Guess how much I love you” he said.

“I don’t think I could guess that” said Big Nutbrown Hare.

“This much” said Little Nutbrown Hare stretching out his arms as wide as he could go.

Big Nutbrown Hare had even longer arms. “But I love you this much” he said.

“Hmmm. That’s a lot” thought Little Nutbrown Hare

“I love you as high as I can reach” said Little Nutbrown Hare.

“I love you as high as I can reach” said Big Nutbrown Hare.

“That is very high” thought Little Nutbrown Hare. “I wish I had arms like that”

Then Little Nutbrown Hare had a good idea. He tumbled upside down then reached up the tree trunk with his feet. “I love you all the way up to my toes” he said.

“And I love you up to your toes” said Big Nutbrown Hare swinging him up over his head.

“I love you as I high as I can hop” laughed Little Nutbrown Hare, bouncing up and down.

“But I love you as high as I can hop” smiled Big Nutbrown Hare—and he hopped so high that his ears touched the branches above.

“That’s good hopping”, thought Little Nutbrown Hare. “I wish I could hop like that”.

“I love you all the way down the lane as far as the river”, cried Little Nutbrown Hare.

“I love you across the river and over the hills”, said Big Nutbrown Hare.

“That’s very far,” thought Little Nutbrown Hare. He was almost too sleepy to think anymore. Then he looked beyond the thornbushes, out into the big dark night. Nothing could be farther than the sky.

“I love you right up to the moon” he said and closed his eyes.

“Oh that’s far,’ said Big Nutbrown Hare. “That’s very, very far”

Big Nutbrown Hare settled Little Nutbrown Hare into his bed of leaves. He leaned over and kissed him goodnight. Then he laid down close by and whispered with a smile. “I love you right up to the moon—and back”.

3 thoughts on “How Blessed It Is To Be Loved By You

  1. This was just beautiful to read.I have HUGE difficulty putting into words just how much I love Isabella. I suppose it is easier to say that it took me by surprise. I really didn't know that I had the capacity to love someone so very much.

Leave a Reply

