Don’t get me wrong I love Emma. I love Emma more than the sky is blue and the sun is round. I love her more than the twigs used to build a bird’s nest or the snow used for an igloo. I love Emma more than Joan Rivers has had plastic surgery or Jo Brand’s been called a lesbian. I love Emma with every bit of cellulite on my thighs. My love for Emma runs deeper than my stretch marks and more than my bum sags. But bed-times at the Connor house are enough to push Mary Poppins over the edge.

Night times are rarely painless. Occasionally Emma is put in her bed and she falls asleep. Bed times are a nightmare and more often than not it takes up to forty minutes to get Emma off to la-la land…and for me to reach cloud-cuckoo-land.

We watch Uki, Charlie and Lola and for some reason Tommy Zoom. Then it’s time to say good-night. Emma gives dad a love and tells him she loves him. She then tells him to sleep tight and not the let the bed bugs bite. She also tells him to send love to the angels. Almost ready for bed. Dummy – check. Milk – check. There are approximately twelve stairs leading up to her bedroom. Twelve long and exhausting steps. As she climbs each stair, she says goodnight to something that catches her eye. So the farewells to the things and objects change, but that’s about it:

Stair one – goodnight Bassie (the dog)
Stair two – goodnight Jiggy Biggs (another dog)
Stair three – goodnight Binah (yet another dog)
Stair  four – goodnight Chloe (thankfully the last dog)
Stair five. goodnight books
Stair six – goodnight dora (the doll)
Stair seven – goodnight boots (the monkey)
Stair eight – goodnight TV
Stair nine – goodnight books
Stair ten – goodnight kitty (hello kitty)
Stair eleven – goodnight daddy (again)
Stair twelve – goodnight everyone

Then into bed we go. And it gets worse.Reading for Emma is, well, not easy. She’s a back-seat reader. She tells you how to hold the book. when to turn the pages, how to turn the pages. She speeds ahead and then stops. Then she reverses and goes right back to the beginning. Then you have to read it in different voices and if you use the wrong voice in the wrong place you have to start again…

Then it’s bed time. And this is where things go from wrong to very wrong.

Me: Goodnight Emma, sleep tight

Emma: Goodnight mamma, love you

Me: Love you too

Emma: Kisses?

Me: kiss kiss kiss. Sleep tight

Emma: Put my blankie on my head

Me: Okay. There you go. Now good night

(Me, exit down stairs. Sit)

Emma: Mamma, I’ve finished milk

Me: Okay put your bottle next to you

Emma: I’ve messed

Me: Put your bottle down and sleep Emma

Emma: Mamma I need a new nappy

Me: No you don’t. That’s a new one

Emma: No! It’s stinky

Me: Emma. Sleep

Emma: Mamma. More milk

Me: (up the stairs with more milk)

Emma: Hello mommy!

Me: Goodnight Emma!

(Me back down the stairs)

Emma: Mamma where’s my dummy?

Me – silence

Emma: Mamma where’s manster (talking hamster toy)

Me – silence

Emma: Mamma. Mamma. Mamma. Mamma. Mamma. Mamma

(Me back up the stairs)

Emma: Hello!

Me: Emma please sleep

Emma: Kisses mamma. Hugs please

Me: Okay. Now goodnight

Now I know some of you are saying I should use the tough-love-ignore-them method but I can’t. As a mom to an adopted little girl I am governed by guilt, a guilt as bad as, if not worse, than a Jewish mom. I am so nervous that anything I do or don’t do will result in a delinquent teen that hates her parents for everything (almost like me) and so I give in. I climb those twelve stairs at least ten times before Emma is asleep. By the time she’s sleeping I am ready to pass out. Of course the other solution is to move her bed downstairs. And pray that I’m not alone in this xxx

20 thoughts on “Twelve Steps…

  1. Oh how Ilaughed … and I do know where you're coming from. But at the same time … I'm insanely happy that I managed to do the "ignore his requests for mommy/daddy/bottle etc" and that he pops off to bed, sometimes even ASKING "Mommy, I want sleep". By 8:30 it's quiet and it's just Dave and I. Well just for 7 more weeks, before #2 arrives…

  2. Bedtime is always a struggle in any house. My kids (touching wood) hardly ever struggle to go down, but the nights that they do is hell.On a positive note climbing twelve stairs up and down ten times a night gives u 240 steps up and down, which is great workout. Keep her bed upstairs!

  3. After looking into a handful of the blog posts on your website, I seriously appreciate
    your way of blogging. I added it to my bookmark site list and will be checking back soon.
    Please check out my web site too and let me know your opinion.
    Feel free to visit my web-sitediscount michael kors watches

  4. This design is wicked! You most certainly know how to keep a reader entertained.

    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own
    blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Wonderful job.
    I really loved what you had to say, and more than that, how you
    presented it. Too cool!
    Here is my blog nhl jerseys wholesale

  5. Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and
    found that it's really informative. I'm gonna watch out for
    brussels. I'll appreciate if you continue this in future. A lot of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!
    Check out my web site ; http://www.PanicAwayLindenMethod.com/

  6. Hi! I've been following your blog for a while now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Kingwood Tx! Just wanted to tell you keep up the excellent work!
    Also visit my web page ; シャネル 財布

  7. Its like you learn my mind! You appear to know a lot approximately this, like you
    wrote the guide in it or something. I feel that you can do with a few % to power the message home a bit, however instead of that, that is wonderful blog. A great read. I'll certainly be back.
    My web blog : i really want my ex boyfriend back

  8. I simply could not go away your site prior to suggesting that I extremely enjoyed the usual info a person supply on your
    guests? Is going to be again often in order to check out new
    posts
    Feel free to surf my web blog シャネル 激安

  9. Hello there, I discovered your website via Google
    while looking for a similar topic, your web site came up, it looks great.
    I've bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hello there, just become alert to your blog via Google, and located that it's truly informative.
    I am gonna be careful for brussels. I will be grateful in case you continue this in future.
    Numerous folks will likely be benefited from your writing.

    Cheers!
    Also see my site > コーチ アウトレット

Leave a Reply

