Yes, way back when I was still a yout‘ I did PR for some of the great (and not so great) artists and bands. My working career started off at EMI where I was the Marketing Coordinator for Virgin Records. And throughout my time I had the pleasure of working with some all-time greats, including Smashing Pumpkins, Skunk Anansie, Lenny Kravitz, Placebo, Basement Jaxx and Faithless, to name a few. On other occasions I would mumble to friends that I was touring with The Vengaboys, Steps, Spice Girls and Steve Hofmeyr.

A moment that still brings fond memories (and a stirring in my loins) was having dinner with Lenny Kravitz. In amongst all the record folk he asked me if I was Australian (because if you’re not American you’re obviously from down-under). “Nope, born and bred in Johannesburg” was my creative response. “You remind me of someone I know from there” is what he said. I of course heard, “you remind me of Natalie [Imbruglia].” Back then it could have been possible – I was younger and considered myself cool enough to pass off as the gorgeous Ms I.

A few years later, as a freelance PR person I had the very real pleasure of meeting Sir Bob Geldof. One morning, as we were waiting for our driver outside his hotel Bob and I chatted about world hunger, world peace and the weather in JHB, he too said I reminded him of someone. “Natalie Imbruglia maybe?” I answered hopefully. “Nah, not Natalie Imbruglia!”….a few minutes of silence and then “Noodle! Noodle from Gorillaz!”

One thought on “Did I ever tell you about the time I met Sir Bob…

Leave a Reply

